Un week-end dans et autour de Bordeaux

Photo de Un week-end à Bordeaux

Bordeaux est l'une des plus belles villes de France et dans le centre, vous trouverez les magnifiques boulevards larges et de grandes places ouvertes, ainsi que les ruelles médiévales et un centre commercial et un café quartier moderne récente sur les rives de la rivière.

L'architecture est telle qu'une grande partie du centre-ville a été donné le statut de patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO

Bordeaux Centre Ville

Il y a beaucoup à voir et à faire à Bordeaux mais la partie historique de la ville est raisonnablement compact et facile à explorer à pied. Si vous êtes fatigué alors utiliser l'excellent système de trams de voyager autour de la ville.

La Place de la Comédie est l'une des places principales de Bordeaux et ici vous trouverez le splendide bâtiment Grand Théâtre. Si vous êtes un passionné d'opéra assurez-vous de réserver des billets pour votre séjour. De là, dirigez-vous vers la rivière et le Palais de la Bourse à profiter davantage de l'élégante architecture du 18ème siècle qui rend Bordeaux si belle.

Bordeaux centre villeCependant promenant dans les rues secondaires au large des boulevards larges grands et vous plongez rapidement dans les charmantes ruelles de Bordeaux médiéval. Tout en explorant, vous verrez la Grosse Cloche, un clocher comme quelque chose de Disney et la Porte Cailhau un autre fascinant bâtiment "Disneyesque".

Si vous cherchez quelque chose de plus moderne, marcher le long de la rivière qui a été récemment rénové. Ses entrepôts abritent aujourd'hui des restaurants branchés et des boutiques et de la promenade le long de la rivière passe de beaux jardins, des parcs de skate et de nombreux espaces pour se détendre. En face du Palais de la Bourse est une grande 'plan d'eau' peu profonde (5 centimetres) ou vous pouvez marcher et qui explose avec de fins jets d'eau toutes les quelques minutes - fabuleux pour vous refroidir en été!

Si vous souhaitez faire du shopping puis la rue Sainte-Catherine dans le centre est la plus longue rue commerçante d'Europe à plus d'un kilomètre de longueur et les rues environnantes sont pleines de boutiques individuelles, boutiques de luxe et de nombreux cafés et restaurants.

Un café préféré pour le déjeuner est Karls Café sur la Place du Parlement qui se spécialisent dans les salades imaginatives, des soupes et des sandwiches dans un environnement agréable et détendue. Si vous souhaitez manger où les présidents en visite mangent alors allez au Chapon Fin de la rue Montesquieu.

Voir plus de détails dans notre Bordeaux Guide

Les villages et la campagne autour de Bordeaux

Il y a beaucoup à faire à Bordeaux pour vous distraire pour un week-end, mais si vous souhaitez explorer plus loin il y a un certain nombre de voyages intéressantes que vous pouvez faire sans une voiture.

L'office de tourisme de Bordeaux, sur le bord de la Place de la Comédie, offrent un grand nombre des excursions d'un journée ou demi-journée dans les vignobles de la région en vous donnant la chance de deguster à l'excellent Bordeaux, Médoc, Saint-Emilion et Sauternes, entre autres. Voyages varient de 60 à 80 euros, déjeuner compris.

Saint EmilionIl y a un train de la gare de Bordeaux à Saint-Emilion qui est une ville fabuleuse. Saint-Emilion est une belle ville avec ses rues étroites, ses charmantes places et vous pouvez prendre une visite souterraine de son église monolithe. Il est aussi bien sûr la maison pour les fabuleux vins de St-Emilion offrant l'occasion d'une petite dégustation de vin.

Dans la direction opposée, vous pouvez prendre le train de la belle ville côtière de Arcachon. Même hors saison Arcachon vaut le détour pour voir les villas excentriques de la "Ville d'Hiver" construit dans la seconde moitié du 19ème. Vous pouvez également faire une excursion en bateau vers les cabanes tchanquées - les cabines de pêche sur pilotis dans le Bassin d'Arcachon.

Si vous décidez de louer une voiture votre voyage à Arcachon peut inclure aussi le Dune du Pilat qui est la plus grande dune de sable d'Europe et offre une vue panoramique sur la baie. Un parcours autour de la baie de Cap Ferret est également recommandé.

Sidebar Menu

Photo of A weekend in Bordeaux
hotels
Booking.com: best prices
Where
Arrive
Leave

With cheap flights to Bordeaux from the UK it is now very practical to visit Bordeaux for a long weekend without breaking the bank.

Bordeaux centre has a wide range of hotels and an excellent tram-system making car hire unnecessary unless you want to explore the surrounding countryside.

Bordeaux is one of France's most beautiful cities and in the centre are not only elegant wide boulevards and large open squares, but also narrow medieval streets and the recent addition of a modern shopping and cafe area on the banks of the river.

The architecture is such that a huge part of the city centre has been given UNESCO World Heritage status

Bordeaux Centre

Bordeaux centreThere is lots to see and do in Bordeaux but the historic part of the city is reasonably compact and easy to explore on foot. If you are getting tired then use the excellent tram system to travel around the city.

The Place de la Comedie is one of the main squares in Bordeax and here you will find the splendid Grand Theatre building. If you are an opera buff be sure to book tickets for your stay. From here head towards the river and the Palais de la Bourse to enjoy more of the elegant 18th century architecture which makes Bordeaux so beautiful.

However wander into the side streets off the grand sweeping boulevards and you quickly become immersed in the charming narrow streets of medieval Bordeaux. Whilst exploring these look out particularly for the Grosse Cloche, a Disney-like bell-tower and the Porte Cailhau another wonderful Disney-like structure, though both pre-date Disney by 5-6 centuries!

If you are looking for something more modern then walk along the river which has recently been revamped. Its warehouses now house trendy restaurants and shops and the walk along the river passes attractive gardens, skate parks and lots of areas to relax. Opposite the Palais de la Bourse is a large shallow expanse of water which you can walk on and which explodes with fine jets of water every few minutes - fabulous to cool down in the summer!

If you wish to do some shopping then Rue St Catherine in the centre is Europe's longest shopping street at over a kilometer in length and the surrounding streets are full of individual boutiques, designer shops and lots of cafés and restaurants.

A favourite cafe for lunch is Karls Café on Place du Parlement who specialise in imaginative salads, soups and sandwiches in a pleasant relaxed environment. If you wish to eat where visiting presidents eat then head for Le Chapon Fin on Rue Montesquieu.

See more details in our Bordeaux Guide

 
Advertisement
 

The villages and countryside around Bordeaux

Saint EmilionThere is plenty to do in Bordeaux to keep you amused for a weekend but if you wish to explore further there are a number of interesting trips you can do without a car.

The tourist office of Bordeaux on the edge of Place de la Comedie offer a large number of full day and half day trips to the local vinyards giving you the chance to sample the excellent Bordeaux, Medoc, St Emillion and Sauternes wines amongst others. Trips vary from 60 to 80 euros including lunch. 

There is a train from Bordeaux station to Saint-Emillion which is a fabulous town. Saint Emillion is a beautiful town with steep, narrow streets, charming squares and you can take an underground tour of its monolithic church.  It is also of course home to the fabulous St-Emillion wines offering an opportunity of a little wine-tasting.

In the opposite direction you can take the train to the lovely coastal town of Arcachon. Even out of season arcachon is worth a visit to view the quirky villas of the 'Ville d'Hiver' built in the second half of the 19th. You can also take a boat trip out to the "cabanes tchanquées" -  the fishing cabins on stilts in the Bay of Arcachon.

If you do decide to hire a car a trip to Arcachon can be extended to take in the wonderful Dune du Pilat which is the largest sand dune in Europe and offers sweeping views of the bay. A drive round the bay to Cap Ferret is also recommended.

Travel information

- To arrange car hire for the duration of your visit see car hire in France

- There are lots of hotels in the centre of Bordeaux, just choose the one that suits your price range. The Grand Hotel de Bordeaux opposite the Grand Theatre is the place to stay if you have a big event to celebrate or money is no object but there are many other cheaper options. For hotels at all prices in the town see Bordeaux Hotels.

Back To Top