Explore the departments of France

France is officially divided into 22 administrative regions (plus four overseas), then further divided into 96 departments.

Note: since 1 January 2016 there are only 13 regions in mainland France (including Corsica). The new regions are noted below as ncessary but we have also retained the old region names for information purposes

Each French department falls entirely within one region, and has its own local 'capital' town - called a prefecture. Each department is further subdivided into 'communes' - locally administered areas (there are approximately 36,500 communes in France, approximately representing each place in France).

Confusingly some parts of France that you might visit are best known by their 'department' name e.g. Dordogne is a department forming part of the Aquitaine region, while others are better known under their region name eg Brittany (where the region includes several departments)

The departments below are listed by department number - these department numbers are very widely used, including being the first two digits of French postcodes.


Dept No.: Department
Region / Prefecture

01: Ain
Rhone Alpes (new region: Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes) / Bourg-en-Bresse

02: Aisne
Picardy (new region: Hauts-de-France) / Laon

2A: Corse-du-Sud
Corsica / Ajaccio

2B: Haute-Corse
Corsica / Bastia
see Corsica above

03: Allier
Auvergne (new region: Auvergne Rhône-Alpes) / Moulins

Advertisement (place your ad here)

Provence / Gap


Rhone Alpes (new region: Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes) / Privas

08: Ardennes
Champagne Ardenne (new region: Grand Est)/ Charleville-Mezieres

Midi Pyrenees (new region: Occitaine) / Foix

10: Aube
Champagne Ardenne (new region: Grand Est)/ Troyes

11: Aude
Languedoc-Roussillon (new region: Occitaine) / Carcassonne

Midi Pyrenees (new region: Occitaine) / Rodez

Provence / Marseille

Normandy / Caen

15: Cantal
Auvergne (new region: Auvergne Rhône-Alpes) / Aurillac

Poitou Charentes (new region: Nouvelle Aquitaine) / Angouleme

Poitou Charentes (new region: Nouvelle Aquitaine) / La Rochelle

18: Cher
Centre (Loire Valley) / Bourges

Limousin (new region: Nouvelle Aquitaine) / Tulle

Burgundy (new region: Bourgogne Franche-Comte) / Dijon

Brittany / Saint-Brieuc

23: Creuse
Limousin (new region: Nouvelle Aquitaine) / Guéret

Aquitaine (new region: Nouvelle Aquitaine) / Périgueux

25: Doubs
Franche Comte / Besancon

26: Drôme
Rhone Alpes (new region: Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes) / Valence

27: Eure
Normandy / Evreux

Centre (new region: Centre-Val de Loire) (Loire Valley) / Chartres

Brittany / Quimper

30: Gard
Languedoc-Roussillon (new region: Occitaine) / Nimes

Midi Pyrenees (new region: Occitaine) / Toulouse

32: Gers (see Gascony)
Midi Pyrenees (new region: Occitaine) / Auch

Aquitaine (new region: Nouvelle Aquitaine) / Bordeaux

Languedoc-Roussillon (new region: Occitaine) / Montpellier


36: Indre
Centre (new region: Centre-Val de Loire) (Loire Valley) / Chateauroux

Centre (new region: Centre-Val de Loire) (Loire Valley) / Tours

38: Isère
Rhone Alpes (new region: Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes) / Grenoble

39: Jura
Franche Comte / Lons-le-Saunier

40: Landes
Aquitaine (new region: Nouvelle Aquitaine) / Mont-de-Marsan

Centre (new region: Centre-Val de Loire) (Loire Valley) / Blois

42: Loire
Rhone Alpes (new region: Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes) / Saint-Etienne

Auvergne (new region: Auvergne Rhône-Alpes) / Le Puy-en-Velay

Pays de la Loire / Nantes

45: Loiret
Centre (new region: Centre-Val de Loire) (Loire Valley) / Orleans

46: Lot
Midi Pyrenees (new region: Occitaine) / Cahors

Aquitaine (new region: Nouvelle Aquitaine) / Agen

Languedoc-Roussillon (new region: Occitaine) / Mende

49: Maine-et-Loire (see Anjou)
Pays de la Loire / Angers

50: Manche
Normandy / Saint-Lô

51: Marne
Champagne Ardenne (new region: Grand Est)/ Chalons-en-Champagne

52: Haute-Marne
Champagne Ardenne (new region: Grand Est)/ Chaumont

Pays de la Loire / Laval

54: Meurthe-et-Moselle
Lorraine (new region: Grand Est) / Nancy

55: Meuse
Lorraine (new region: Grand Est) / Bar-le-Duc

Brittany / Vannes

57: Moselle
Lorraine (new region: Grand Est) / Metz

Burgundy (new region: Bourgogne Franche-Comte) / Nevers

59: Nord
Nord Pas de Calais (new region: Hauts-de-France) / Lille

60: Oise
Picardy (new region: Hauts-de-France) / Beauvais

61: Orne
Normandy / Alencon

62: Pas-de-Calais
Nord Pas de Calais (new region: Hauts-de-France) / Arras

Auvergne (new region: Auvergne Rhône-Alpes) / Clermont-Ferrand

Aquitaine (new region: Nouvelle Aquitaine) / Pau

Midi Pyrenees (new region: Occitaine) / Tarbes

Languedoc-Roussillon (new region: Occitaine) / Perpignan

Alsace (new region: Grand Est) / Strasbourg

Alsace (new region: Grand Est) / Colmar

69: Rhône
Rhone Alpes (new region: Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes) / Lyon

70: Haute-Saône
Franche Comte / Vesoul

Burgundy (new region: Bourgogne Franche-Comte) / Macon

72: Sarthe
Pays de la Loire / Le Mans

73: Savoie
Rhone Alpes (new region: Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes) / Chambery

Rhone Alpes (new region: Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes) / Annecy

75: Paris
Paris / Paris


77: Seine-et-Marne
Paris / Melun

78: Yvelines
Paris / Versailles

79: Deux-Sèvres
Poitou Charentes (new region: Nouvelle Aquitaine) / Niort

80: Somme
Picardy (new region: Hauts-de-France) / Amiens

81: Tarn
Midi Pyrenees (new region: Occitaine) / Albi

Midi Pyrenees (new region: Occitaine) / Montauban

83: Var
Provence / Toulon

Provence / Avignon

Pays de la Loire / La Roche-sur-Yon

86: Vienne
Poitou Charentes (new region: Nouvelle Aquitaine) / Poitiers

Limousin (new region: Nouvelle Aquitaine) / Limoges

88: Vosges
Lorraine (new region: Grand Est) / Epinal

89: Yonne
Burgundy (new region: Bourgogne Franche-Comte) / Auxerre

90: Territoire de Belfort
Franche Comte / Belfort

91: Essonne
Paris / Evry
see Paris (no 75 above)

92: Hauts-de-Seine
Paris / Nanterre
see Paris (no 75 above)

93: Seine-Saint-Denis
Paris / Bobigny
see Paris (no 75 above)

94: Val-de-Marne
Paris / Créteil
see Paris (no 75 above)

95: Val-d’Oise
Paris / Cergy-Pontoise
see Paris (no 75 above)
Advertisement (place your ad here)

* Note: these listings provide complete alphabetical list of all the communes in France, by department - which in turn will provide you with maps, tourist information, hotels and places of interest for each of these communes (Paris communes are grouped together).

The four overseas departments are Guadelope, Martinique, La Réunion and Guyane

See 'Places to visit in France' for a map of the regions of France. This list of departments in France should help if you know what department you want to visit e.g. Dordogne 24 but you don't know which region it forms part of.

Map of the departments of France.

map of the departments of france